New Mills Nursery

Be Safe
Be Kind
Be Inspired

Meet the Governors

The Role of the Governing Board

The Governing Board take a strategic role, act as a critical friend to the school and are accountable for its decisions. It sets aims and objectives and agrees, monitors and reviews policies, targets and priorities. This includes approving the annual budget, staffing arrangements and school development priorities.

In all types of schools, Governing Boards should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

b. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the
school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;

c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governors at New Mills Nursery School

New Mills Nursery School has a Governing Board that consists of 12 members including parents, residents from the local community and staff from the nursery school. The current Governing Board members are:

Chair of Governors Christine Bowen (LA Governor)
Vice-Chair of Governors Elisabeth Rawson (Co-opted Governor)
Headteacher Claire Inman
Staff Governor Carole Reed
Parent Governor Sarah Chaplin
Parent Governor Rachel Downes
Parent Governor Kathryn Hopkins
Parent Governor Fay Vandenberg
Co-opted Governor Helen Bullough
Co-opted Governor Gemma Sidebottom
Co-opted Governor Vacancy
Co-opted Governor Vacancy
Clerk to Governors Catherine Swiffin

If you would like to contact a member of the Governing Board, then please contact Mrs Swiffin in the school office.

The Full Governing Board meet four times a year. Each Governor has a term of office lasting four years, although they can resign before the term officially ends. All Governors are required to have a full DBS check and complete a Declaration of Eligibility and a Declaration of Business Interests.

For more information about our Governors please click on the link below

Governor Membership 2021-22


In addition to the Full Governing Board, there are two Committees:

Teaching, Learning and Assessment Committee (TLA)

Finance, Personnel and Premises Committee (FPP).

Each of the Committees meets three times a year.


TLA Committee 

Elisabeth Rawson (Chair)

Chris Bowen

Sarah Chaplin

Kathryn Hopkins

Claire Inman

Carole Reed


FPP Committee

Gemma Sidebottom (Chair)

Chris Bowen

Helen Bullough

Rachel Downes

Claire Inman

Fay Vandenberg



The roles and responsibilities of each of the Committees are set out in the Terms of Reference. Please follow the link to find out more.

Terms of Reference Committees

Lead Governors

In addition to the Committees, there is a Lead Governor for each of the following areas.

Lead Governor for Anti-Bullying
Fay Vandenberg

Lead Governor for Data Protection
Rachel Downes

Lead Governor for Equality
Elisabeth Rawson

Lead Governor for Health and Safety
Gemma Sidebottom

Lead Governor for Looked After Children & Pupil Premium
Sarah Chaplin

Lead Governor for Mental Health
Kathryn Hopkins

Lead Governor for Safeguarding
Helen Bullough

Lead Governor for Special Educational Needs
Sarah Chaplin

To find out more about each of the roles, please click on the link below.
Lead Governor Roles (July 2022)

Meeting Dates 2022-23

The dates of the meetings in 2022-23 are:

Full Governing Board
4 October 2022
31 January 2023
25 April 2023 (short meeting to approve budget)
4 July 2023

Teaching, Learning & Assessment Committee
1 November 2022
7 March 2023
16 May 2023

Finance, Personnel & Premises Committee
22 November 2022
28 March 2023 (including the budget proposal to present to Full GB)
13 June 2023

All meetings will be held on a Tuesday starting at 7.30 pm

Governor Attendance 2021-22